An Interview With Danny Michael

Here is the interview and below that is the spread I made, practicing the paragraph style sheets in InDesign. The spread isn’t particularly experimental. It was just to reinforce how they work.

  • What was your first creative memory?
    I remembered being the ‘go to girl’ in school when it came to all “art things.” But I did also help my father, who was a Graphic Designer, in his studio with his work.
  • When you were little what did you want to be when you grew up?
    Gypsy. A Gypsy in a caravan. (laughs) I also wanted a horse… until I realised that I hated horses.
  • What makes you angry?
    People that write “alot” instead of “a lot”. “As well” is another one!
  • When did you realize that you wanted to be a Graphic Designer?
    A month before I started my Uni course!
  • Why not just a fine artist?
    Having tried various fine art things, for 10 plus years, I realised it’s unfulfilling. Fine Art is personal to you and when/if you show people they often don’t like or get it. The interaction between myself and the audience is much more exciting, the communication of a message.
  • Do you ever feel insecure about things? Do you ever worry about not being good enough? What do you do when that happens?
    I don’t think there’s anything you can do about it, I just try not to settle. I keep going until I make it and myself better.
  • If you could work for any brand at all, what brand would you want to work for?
    A charity or human rights group. Someone that is trying to make the world a better place. Hopefully then I can feel good about my designs.
  • Do you believe that you can make a difference with your work now?
    I believe that everything and anything can make the world better, even if only slightly. However, as a designer I need to become well known so I have a wider reach.
  • Do you feel like people don’t pay attention unless they’re shocked?
    No. It is a way but people will also pay attention for many other reasons. If a design is clever, witty or even just looks good people will take notice of it.
  • How do you reach people now? Have you thought about how things stand out?
    I don’t think I actually market myself now. I want to know my work is good enough before I show it but, when that happens, I do hope to be known for clever and witty designs.

  • How do you know something you’ve created is good?
    I don’t think I am ever 100% happy with my work but I suppose I have different degrees of satisfaction. I’d say when I’m willing to show my work I must be happy with it.
  • Where do you see yourself in five years? What are you doing?
    Well, I’ll be 40 then so hopefully working for myself on big projects in a my own little studio. One thing is for sure, I want to be making the world a better place, one design at a time.
  • If you quite Graphic Design tomorrow, that would you do instead?
    Carpentry. (laughs) It’s probably the closest thing to Graphic Design that I can actually see myself baring to do! It is still designing and creating and even if a chair won’t better the world, I can better one person’s posture.

Interview 01

Leave a Reply

