Presentation Week: Wine Glast Development

Presentation week gave me that a lot of insight into what others were doing wrong and what they were doing right. I like to think this information fed into the next step of my development.

The feedback I received was pretty much what I expected.
Below is the image I presented, it stems from the idea of the ‘Fragile’ stickers that would be placed on a box of glasses. I turned the idea that the glass is fragile on it’s head to say that the box is more likely to break than the glass is. The idea is there but, as I said, it needs a little bit more time and attention to take it away from the way it is at the moment. As it stands it feels as though it would be easily mistaken just as a ‘Fragile’ sticker. I felt I needed to keep the concept but develop the visual.
I also mentioned that there was a segregation between the design of the logo and the type. I needed to develop their relationship.

Fragile Box-01

I thought that the best way to gain any sort of intention would be looking at a range of logo’s and how they relate themselves with the companies name. Here are some of the logos I thought to be most relevant to the sort of design I wanted: Logos & Title.PDF.
In particular, ‘Radio Show’ and ‘Title Boxing’ were the two that I could see feeding into my designs. I liked the box around the boxing logo, clearer joining the two elements and the shape of the radio logo was nice. I thought that having the name fit the width of the imagery in a grid let the eye know immediately that the two were related.

I began sketching some ideas and quickly realised that by having a portrait shape I could still have the logo looking like the ‘Fragile’ stickers in shape. Below is the point that I realised I had a solid start.

20130302_112735

I next went to a computer and begun creating some designs for this idea. I had some issues with making the box look as though it was shattered convincingly, so I found the below tutorial:

Here are the designs I made for The Wine Glast Company:

  • I wanted the glass to look as delicate as possible so it would seem even stronger against a broken box.
  • The box needed to have sharp edges (not the original rounded edges). This created a much stronger feel to the box and therefore a greater irony in the fact that it was damaged.
  • I began to give the box a very designed destruction and this really didn’t feel natural at all. So I went a little crazy with it. It was far more realistic, as if it had been dropped.
    I do think that the 5th and 6th ones were a little too much though, so I kept the idea of making the fall feel undesigned but made it with less fragments and larger slabs. I did this so that it looked believable yet as simplistic as possible, without it feeling patterned.
  • The freckles over the logo was intended to make the whole thing look a little more worn but, as someone pointed out, it looked as though the wine was in space. (This was pointed out to me after the next few stages of development…)

7 is my strongest one, now I needed to give it a healthy relationship with the companies name…

Below is what I originally had in mind for the logotype, showing it to people it turns out that the fancy ‘G’ and the robust ‘LAST’ made you read it is “The Wine Last Company” and then you would see the “G”.

01

To solve this issue I decided the whole word should be robust. Here are some variations on the title’s composition that I played with:

0203-01

The left image doesn’t work because of the height of the ‘C’ in ‘company’. There is an awkward balance created. This told me that I needed to find a new place for that word.

This is my final logo and company name composition. It works on all the levels I wanted it to. The box, encasing the glass, is built of simple shapes creating the effect of a robust and sturdy box having been dropped and destroyed. However, the glass inside is still beautiful and undamaged.
The text has a great balance between it’s elegant elements and it’s strong ones.
It isn’t a million miles away from the original ‘Fragile’ sticker design I created, thanks to the border holding the logo and type together, and you can image this printed on a cardboard box when the glasses are packaged. It would act as an ironic element.

Overall I think the whole this meets the mark I set myself originally of portraying elegance and strength side-by-side and I do think it would appeal to both industrial and domestic use.

06-01-01

Wine Glast Co

Leave a Reply

