How to Deliver a “Cross-Ratio” Relationship

I wanted to make sure there was a relationship between the singular pages, the spread, the quarter and half pages. They are all to adapt different ratios and aspects but need to feel like part of the same family.
I started to design the pages and quickly realised that there was no point designing the single full-page if I had no knowledge of to approach the others. It needs to be well thought out, with a guideline (for things like margins and font sizes etc.) and then I can begin.
I took a look at how other people have done this…

Below, on the left, is a campaign for a charity. I liked the balance and it allows your eyes to decide what is more important because the design says they are both equal.
On the right, is a Nike ad which promotes natural beauty. It needs a lot of space for words because this is the key thing. The relationship between the text’s alignment and the models legs is fun and conceptually sound with the message. I, however, can’t see this being too useful for my designs. It has very little room for creating a cross-ratio family and the image isn’t made prominent enough for what I want to do.

si-awa-spread_screen nike-butt-080210-main

Below is the real winner for me. It is key to the idea of getting one advert to work well in a different aspect ratio. (I am looking at the two tomato ads; not the “pasta lover” one.)
They keep the logos in the same place (top right and bottom right) and have have the same slogan (“Sad isn’t it?”) and a similar header (facts about food wastage). The colour scheme is relative and the imagery is a direct copy. A final point to note, the smaller space knows when to loose the body of text, acknowledging the benefit of negative space in a small area. It starts to force emphasis on the information that is included more.
This is a trick I need to consider: what is most important in my designs? Is it the image? The Logo? The Header? The Body? Or the “Donate” request?

Birmingham-love-food-hate-waste-campaign-advertising

Leave a Reply

