Wine Glast: Advertisement & Concept

Intro

I knew, almost straight away, that I wanted to create an advert for my piece. Mainly because I love advertising and really enjoy the chance to take up the process of thinking of a concept, that meets an audience and persuades them that a product is fanciable.

Example of what I will Hand In

  • I decided that the best audience for this ad is the family, more explicitly parents. I would have more fun with this audience than my other target: nightclubs, bars & pubs etc.
  • I knew straight away that I would only be able to create a concept, some copy and a mock up. There is a lot to this project (including all elements for Wine Glast and the town work, also with 4 other deadlines approaching). So it would be silly to really focus all my energy on producing a visually excellent piece, when it is really just the idea behind it that is important.
  • So my hand in isn’t an advert, it is an advertising concept & mock up.

Message & Copy

In “self initiated project” I learnt something valuable! I can’t even begin to create imagery if I do not yet have some sort of clear message, so began work on thinking of what I want to say. I then formed a rough comp of copy.
I knew I wanted to say it is the following: 1) timeless (design and in build), 2) family-proof, 3) strong. These are three ideas that I would toy with throughout my idea generation stage, but I know that it is sometimes better to say less. I decided I would try and join two and focus on saying these two clearly, rather than missing the mark with all three!

Possible copy:

  • Timeless. Timeproof.
    I think this says “the design is timeless and it is built to last.”
  • This Way Up.
    The image would be the wrong way up but it doesn’t matter: it won’t break!
  • We are still £10,000 Rich.
    This idea came from the idea of demonstrating how strong the glass is. I remembered how Febreze (and others) use the unexpecting public (or volunteers) to demonstrate how “the everyday public” love the product. I would offer £10,000 to anyone who could get it out of a box made of our glass. Could be humorous and would definitely show the strength of the glass!
  • You’ll never break it.
    This came from the idea of “Resilience.” The glass came take a lot of abuse and I began to think of being tortured.
  • Family-proof.
    Simple, says it all.
  • Take the Wine Glast Challenge.
    This is an idea I actually came up with as a tagline, before realising it works better as a campaign. It is similiar to the “£10,000 rich” idea, above, but the idea is that people would send images of themselves trying to break our glass.

Initial Designs

Above is a gallery of some of the less influential ideas I initially developed.

  • 01-03: The Wine Glast Challenge.
    This idea seemed great but, in building it on a computer, I realised that it is going to be difficult to start the campaign. It has to start with people showing you they’re trying, welcoming your challenge, but I couldn’t find an interesting way to do this.
  • 04: This Way Up.
    Plain, basic, possibly not clear, definitely not stimulating.
  • 05: No Slogan Finalised.
    The idea here is to show the other end of the indestructible glass. It is an image of a bubble-wrapped wine glass, it would say “isn’t this the length some people go to to protect their glass ridiculous? Not with Wine Glast!”
    Just seemed a little bland and perhaps easily unnoticeable.
  • 06: You Won’t Break It.
    A series of scenarios, in which the wine glass is being tortured. It would always look the same, with no face, it is relaxed and is unphased by the stressful environment.
  • 07: £10,000 richer.
    This idea seems like it would need a lot of copy to explain that the glass is actually a wine glass and it is unbreakable. Misleading and unclear, too much work for the consumers to understand and they just wouldn’t bother with it.
  • 08: Family-proof.
    This actual idea was awful! It was meant to suggest that the glass can handle any kind of stress (what’s the most familiar stress to a parent? I’m not a parent but I’d assume is is being a parent…). I chose to put the glass in several different scenarios of stressful family-life, intending to say “the glass is unphased by any situation.” Unfortunately, I feel the imagery implies that the advert is saying “Family-life getting stressful? There’s always wine!” It was a bad idea and I am glad I cottoned on quickly, it did inspire my key idea though, looking at that image I was looking for a way to say parents don’t need to worry about breaking glasses.

20130417_074710 20130417_074718

The above images are part of series, really expressing the timeless design and timeproof build. The final image would be a modern family and a child is knocking it over but the mum doesn’t care. It was good but could be refined to be clearer, smarter and to generally work better.

20130417_074733 20130417_074755

This is where I went next. I began to see this as a kid’s drawing, saying that the kid knocked the glass over, but everything was fine and he’s not in trouble at all, in fact he’s now off drawing. It was a weak link and very presumptuous to think that the consumer would get this.

Where now..?

Moment of Inspiration

I was in my kitchen and realised that the wine glasses are always kept on the top shelf. This is something that every house I have ever been in has done, it is profoundly something minuscule that links all families.
I ran with this and realised that the Wine Glast doesn’t need to be kept up on the top shelf, the top shelf is meant for fragile things that need to be protected. I realised that I had written a new slogan: “Finally, now I can put the things that really matter on the top shelf.”
It works, simply because everyone will get it. It rewrites the common connotation with the top shelf being the place for your wine glasses.
I imaging the image to be a child, somehow having climbed up to the cupboard, pulling out wine glasses (but it’s okay) and up on the top shelf are things like a wedding video, a ring, a wallet and a laptop. Fragile, valuable and priceless things that really should be better protected with young children about.

“Top Shelf” Idea Gen

20130415_140015 Attempt 01

I worked with this image, thinking it was solid, but it was pointed out that the focal point is the cat. I thought of putting a cat (slightly tortured by the child) on the top shelf to demonstrate the “safe place” element. It was slightly humorous but compromised the images effect.

20130417_074522 Attempt 02-01

Still with the idea of being a kids drawing, slightly less powerful, I moved here. It is more simplistic, I thought this would help to define the important elements more: the wine glasses being on the bottom shelf, something the previous attempt didn’t emphasise. However, the simple and childlike style made the valuable elements on the top shelf incomprehensible.

Final Mock Up

Below, is the image I reached and loved. It would be a photograph, but I do not have the time to set this sort of shoot up. I think the mock up serves to explain the images intentions.
I removed the chair behind the child to ensure it doesn’t feel like he is at a table. I know that in an actual photograph the fact that you are looking out of a shelf would become 10x clearer, but I’m not much of a drawer so had issues with perspective.

Final Imagery

The image works because it is showing a happy child and what should be stressful is no longer creating the same emotion. The fact that he is preoccupied with the wine glasses and the important things are safe and untouched aims to create a sense of security and calmness.
The slightly 60’s composition is not 100%, but I like the idea of this, as it feels really homely.
It raises the question “why is he playing with glass!?” so perhaps a small box of subtext is required to explain the invention and it’s benefits.
But it definitely asks the right questions, and if the text can answer them properly, it will entice you for sure.

 20130416_142041

Leave a Reply

