Wine Glast: Parts of the Brand

I have spent the last few weeks creating different elements to define the brand. I decided that deliverables I will hand in are:

  • Logo & Tagline
  • Business Cards
  • Letterheads
  • Email Sign off

The above are all compulsory, the below are my decision.

  • Advert- I am a big fan of creative advertising and I know I need more practice (particularly in copy and meeting the target audience)
  • Launch Party Invite- Only required to do one compulsory thing but I figured an invite would be simple enough (I ended up being wrong).
  • Packaging- I have never attempted packaging and so I wanted to have a little go at it.

Here are my elements:

Logo & Tagline

Long_Tall-01

This is my brand’s logo, I think the logo should directly express the companies assets. The assets I wanted to express were “strong” but “beautiful”.

I think this logo does that extremely well, it derives from the ‘Fragile’ stickers you would see on the side of a parcel.
The imagery I created uses a beautifully thin wine glass, that looks delicate and fragile. It is encased within a box, which has obviously fallen and somehow it has survived, where the box hasn’t!
The title uses an elegant typeface for what should seem elegant (the wine company) but the “Glast” is the part that makes the product so strong. It does “Last” and that is why I opted for Helvetica Bold. It is a strong and powerful font, directly contradicting and questioning traditional associations with the ‘beautiful’ wine glass.

Letterhead

Letterhead 01

To the left is the companies letterhead. It is very formal and follows in the logo’s footsteps in many ways.

I don’t think it is particularly exciting, definitely not fun but it was the point at which the companies core emotion began to become clear to me.

I would describe the brand to be formal, strong and direct but, I realised, I may need to consider changing this if I am going to want to appeal to families. I needed to focus on being “a people’s company.”

Business Cards

Fix-It Business Set Up

Above are my digital business cards. I got them printed and they look ace!
At this point, I wanted something that was a little more quirky (and welcoming) than the logo and letterhead.
The idea stemmed from the thought of my audience (families) and how children like jigsaw puzzles. It developed into this. The original idea was a series of perfect squares but this was contradicting the idea of smashed glass. Besides, I think the random shapes result in a much more interesting article.

Email Sign Off

Email Sign Off 02

Emails are going to be sent out to clients and potential clients. Two groups of people that I need to show a perfect balance of “approachability” and “seriousness” to the way  the company conducts itself.
I think the email sign off hits this mark very well.
The elegant font becomes quirky when used in this context. The social media feeds show we are up to date, modern and reachable. And the language in “Have a Great Day!” is informal, casual and familiar.
The wide-kerned font demonstrates power and dominance in the way we hold ourselves and our business. The lack of colour also expresses our formal, professional side.

Advert

The advert was what I was most excited about in this project. I couldn’t wait to define the brand so that I could have a language I need to use. The language needed to demonstrate strength but friendliness.
The below image uses perhaps a mild drop of shock to entice and create a curiosity. “Why is this child playing with glass?!” But it is used in a sensible dose that, I don’t think, tarnishes the company.
It is a basic mock-up. I do not have the time or resources to produce this as an actual final, finished ad but I feel like the concept and intentions are there. They are enough to show what I wanted to do.

Final Mock Up

Packaging

Wine Glast 01 Wine Glast 02

Not the traditional kind of packaging, in that it is not in a box. I chose to do this because the product doesn’t need a box for protection, if anything it would need one to define itself as “the unbreakable glass”. For this reason I chose to make a statement and have the packaging say “Box? The wine glass should protect the box!”
I think this adds to the quirkiness I am trying to give to the brand and I think it would really attract an interest when on the shelf.

Launch Party Invite

Mock Up

I am trying to force a brand (that is clearly a strict, strong business) into a friendly and approachable one. I need to do this so that my product doesn’t seem in anyway unfit for the family. In a natural development, I decided that quirkiness was the best way to do this. The brand needs to remain strong, but should be inventive, different and bold.
For the launch party invite, I realised a basic flyer is going to say the opposite.
I opted for a wine box, filled with one of the glasses, a hammer and a pair of goggles (“in case the hammer breaks”). This seems like I am proud of the product and it’s unique attribute, I want to show it off and I want to do this is a new and inventive way!
I obviously cannot physically make these things; I do not have the skills, the time nor the money. So, I have decided that the best thing for the invite was a mock up. Again, the idea and intent is there but I don’t have to spend a load of money in making it.

Leave a Reply

