How I Think I Did

My role in Pixelink, throughout both assignments has been one of much stress. I am essentially responsible for everything! I need to ensure meetings happen, work is being produced, everybody is happy with what is happening and ultimately it is my job to make sure the team meet the deadline with something great to show.

The biggest challenge for me has been organising and motivating everybody. It has been hard when people have the mindset of “I have other deadlines, this one can wait.” It’s often frustrated me that people didn’t seem as fussed as they should be and even more frustratingly, I have needed to motivate this attitude into positivity. I think, for the most part, I have been successful at doing this. I mean, we have all pitched in and I think we can all look back and say “I worked hard.”

Another task I had to adapt to was to find jobs for everybody. A one-week programme is not a 6 man project and it was my responsibility to orchestrate it’s production and the way Pixelink would conduct itself about it. I wanted everybody to have fair input to the theory behind it and to the production of it. So, for the most part, I tried to ensure everybody was doing something even if it meant something small. Will Ward, in particular, was keen to be pitching in but a lot of the time I had to just say “I’m not sure, there isn’t really much that can be done at this point!”

Coming back to the motivating the team point that I made earlier, there was a lot of work to be done and not a lot of time for it to be completed. I was quite happy that I stepped up and started to make definitive decisions. I know it probably wound a lot of the team up but in the end I decided, if you’re not present or don’t make yourself available, you can’t expect us to wait for you and be expected to have a say on something we decided without you. Not because I want to be the bad guy but because I need to be a good leader and get the bloody thing finished!

Leave a Reply

